In the News

Our Vision

The people in Washington County, as citizens in a democracy, will have the protection of their fundamental rights – the right to vote and have that vote counted.

Our Mission

To comply with the statutory obligations in the administration of elections and voter registration and to conduct elections in Washington County that will protect the fundamental rights of citizens in a democracy.

In support of this mission, we are committed to:

  • Serving as an agent for the federal and state government to fulfill mandated programs;

  • Providing easy access for voter registration;

  • Conducting fair and honest elections with security and integrity maintained in the casting of ballots, canvassing of votes and reporting of election results;

  • Encouraging citizen awareness of, and participation in, the election process;

  • Utilizing community resources as a vehicle for publicity and voter education.

The Board is composed of five members each serving a term of four years.  The members are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the State Senate, from lists proposed by the County Central Committees of the two major political parties.

The Board of Elections is responsible for the planning and supervision of all County, State and Federal Elections held in Washington County, as well as the City of Hagerstown.  Elections are administered using the Maryland Constitution, Registration and Election Laws of Maryland and Title 33 of the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR).

Our Board


Marty Lumm, President

Tammy Downin, Vice President

Bill Blazes, Secretary

Connie Mozingo, Assistant Secretary

Jim Schultheis, Board Member

Brian Kane, Board Attorney

DS200 Optical Scanner
Board Meetings


The Washington County Board of Elections meets every 2nd Tuesday of the month at 3:00PM at the Washington County Election Center, 17718 Virginia Avenue, Hagerstown, MD 21740, unless otherwise stated.  Board meetings are open to the public, with the exception of Executive Sessions.  If you wish to speak at a board meeting, you must get prior approval from the board.  Due to space limitations, please inform the staff if you plan to be in attendance.


The next board meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, September 14, 2021 at 3:00PM.  The minutes for the August 10, 2021 meeting will be posted below as soon as they are approved by the board.

Our Staff


left to right:  Tammi Derr, Program Specialist,
Cory Green, Program Assistant, Carl Dayley, Program IT Specialist, Barry Jackson, Deputy Director, Kaye Robucci, Director, 
Teresa Morningstar, Program Supervisor

Previous Board Minutes
Governor Larry Hogan paid a visit to the office staff.

Governor Larry Hogan paid a visit to the office staff after the first offsite cabinet meeting of his administration was held in Hagerstown.

US and Maryland flags

To request past minutes not displayed above, contact us here.